Monday, July 04, 2005

The homologoumena in eight months or eight weeks

As those books of the New Testament that the early church universally recognized as apostolic, the homologoumena contain all essential Christian doctrine:
  1. the gospel according to John, 1 John;
  2. Romans, 1 Corinthians;
  3. the gospel according to Luke;
  4. the Acts of the Apostles;
  5. 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians;
  6. the gospel according to Mark, 1 Peter;
  7. Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon;
  8. the gospel according to Matthew.

Useful information on canonicity is provided by F. Pieper (1950) Christian Dogmatics, Volume I, Concordia Publishing House.